About me

Hello there, nice to meet you! I'm so happy you're reading my blog! My name is Emilia, I'm from Finland and I was born in 1982. I have a Hungarian wife called Julcsi, a daughter called Elsa (born in 2019) and a cat called Nessu. I’m an English teacher by profession and many other things when it comes to my free time - in addition to travelling, I love music (especially Madonna), singing, reading, writing, and watching TV & films & vlogs. I'm also a cat lover and a proud aunt to the most adorable twins.

Mulholland Drive, Los Angeles

I've always loved writing, be it my diary, letters, stories or blog posts. There is nothing better than pouring your heart out on paper and storing your memories through words. I'm definitely an old-school storyteller. I want to create posts that truly convey the emotions I've felt on the road. By the way, my blog gets its name from my all-time favourite travel book, On the Road by Jack Kerouac. 

Most of my entries are extensive reports of the trips I've done. In the past, I used to travel with friends and relatives, but these days, I'm pretty much always on the road with my little rainbow family. Therefore, an LGBTQ+ point of view is always present in whatever I write.

Venice Beach, Los Angeles

My trips usually take me to many different places, but there are some recurring themes that I might just as well mention:

#1 As I'm an English teacher, I tend to want to travel to English-speaking countries to take in as much of their cultures as humanly possible. By this point, I've only seen a tiny fraction of all the fabulous places out there, and it is my firm intention to experience a lot more. I love England, Northern Ireland, Ireland, and the USA as travel destinations and will always continue to go back for more. Also, I spent the autumn of 2017 in Bloomington, Indiana as a Fulbright Distinguished Teacher.

#2 My wife is Hungarian, and as we are both teachers, we have the luxury of spending our summers in Hungary every year. Thus, a large chunk of my posts will be about various places in and around Hungary.

My wife Julcsi (on the left) and I in Szeged, Hungary

#3 Since we live in Finland, we tend to travel around the country as much as we can as well. Therefore, some Northern magic can be found here from time to time, too.

Julcsi and I in Porvoo, Finland

Myself in my current hometown, Hämeenlinna, Finland

Some of my dream destinations are for example Iceland, the Niagara Falls, Malta, Portugal, Japan, Croatia, Slovenia, Athens and island hopping in Greece, an interrail type of trip pretty much anywhere in Europe...So, stay tuned to find out where I end up going next!

In the meanwhile, welcome aboard! I hope you'll enjoy the ride! You can also follow me on InstagramTwitterFacebook and Pinterest.



Popular Posts